Blogmas day 20

Hey guys, not long now. Today has been a busy day and I have been on the go from the moment I got up, spending hours catching up on housework before a marathon baking session. I made up gingerbread dough and three pastry doughs. and I’ve not even finished all my baking and might do some more tomorrow. I managed to find the pastry and gingerbread recipes I have used previously which my brother preferred I used.

IMG_2637[1].JPG

gingerbread

  • 350g plain flour
  • 2 tsp ground ginger
  • 1 tsp bicarbonate of soda
  • 100g butter
  • 175g soft light brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 4tbsp golden syrup ( I used 5)

 

  • preheat oven to gas mark 5 / 190 degrees c
  • put the flour, ginger and soda into a bowl and rub in the butter.
  • add sugar and stir in syrup and egg to make a firm dough.
  • I then chill the dough for 30 minutes but you don’t have to.
  • roll out the dough and cut into what ever shape you wish.
  • put on a baking tray lined with greaseproof paper, leaving space for them to expand slightly and bake for 10 minutes.
  •  leave to firm up for a couple of minutes before placing on a cooling rack.
  • once cooled decorate as your imagination tell you to.

IMG_2645[1].JPG

Pastry

  • 250g plain flour
  • 150g cold butter
  • 2 tsp icing sugar
  • 1 egg yolk (medium sized egg)
  •  mincemeat/jam/lemon curd

I made double the quantity and then made a second batch, leaving me with two large batches of pastry dough 🙂

  • put the flour in a bowl, add the butter and rub together until it resembles breadcrumbs
  • stir in the icing sugar
  • add the egg yolk and 2 eggshells full/ 4tbsp of very cold water
  • stir in with a knife and bring dough together with your hands
  • knead lightly, wrap in cling film and chill in the fridge for 30 minutes
  • preheat oven to 200 degrees c/ gas mark 6
  • grease a tart tin
  • roll out the pastry and cut out as many discs as you need

IMG_2629[2]

  • for mince pies add a teaspoon of mincemeat and place a lid of pastry on top and glaze each with egg or milk
  • jam tarts or lemon tarts add a teaspoon of filling.
  • bake for 20 minutes
  • leave to cool on a cooling rack.

 

 

in total today I have made 40 normal sized gingerbread men, 40 mini gingerbread men ( some have been placed in a clear cellophane gift bags ready to be given as presents) 24 coconut tarts ( recipe from previous post only doubled the mix ) 12 jam tarts, 12 lemon tarts, 12 mince pies and a few sugar cookies. I think you can see why I called it a marathon baking session.

IMG_2644[1].JPG

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

